If you get a DUI in Nebraska, your auto insurance premiums will go up sharply. On average, there is an 80% increase in auto insurance premium for residents of Nebraska, which is high but still below the national + 99% average. This significant increase in insurance costs is just one of the hurdles people face after being convicted of DUI in Nebraska. Before the driver can navigate to a higher insurance price, he must first find a car insurer that covers him – if he can keep his driving privileges. After a DUI there is the possibility that the driving authorization will be withdrawn. With about 30% of traffic-related deaths caused by drunk driving, it’s not hard to see why Nebraska takes this crime so seriously.
DUI laws in Nebraska
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol, the Nebraska DUI penalty can result in significant consequences. There are three main types of consequences DUI offenders can face: fines, jail terms, and suspension or revocation of their license. If a license is suspended or revoked, there are likely to be fees and requirements associated with the reinstatement of the license.
First-time offenders can expect prison sentences of seven to 60 days, fines of up to $ 500, and up to six months of license disqualification. Second offenses can result in 30 to 180 days in prison, up to $ 500 fines, and up to 18 months of license disqualification. Third offenders face jail sentences of up to a year, fines of up to US $ 1,000 and license disqualification of up to fifteen years. For all violations, the penalties can be even harsher if the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.15% or higher.
As in most states, the penalties for a DUI or DWI Nebraska get worse with each further violation. However, for the offenses to be counted cumulatively, each offense must be committed within fifteen years of the previous one. Otherwise the counter can be reset.
How a DUI Affects Your Nebraska Auto Insurance
On average, car insurance in Nebraska increases 70% for a person convicted of DUI. In the US, a DUI conviction will increase premiums by an average of 87%, making rate hikes cheaper in Nebraska than some other states. Nonetheless, most people don’t take a 70% increase in car insurance payments lightly.
Rate increases are made to account for the increased financial risk associated with insuring a high risk driver, such as a person convicted of a DUI. In general, these drivers are more likely to cause financial damage while driving and are therefore more expensive to insure. One way insurance companies deal with this is to charge high-risk drivers a higher rate. But that’s not the only DWI cost Nebraska has.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percentage increase|
|Nebraska||$ 1,531||$ 2,607||+ 70%|
|National average||$ 1,674||$ 3,139||+ 87%|
Not all insurance companies take on customers who have had a DUI or DWI conviction. Many car insurance companies are private companies and have the right to refuse service within certain legal frameworks. Some do this for problems like DUIs. Even if a driver’s current insurance company does not discontinue their coverage when they receive a DUI, they can refuse to renew their policy when it expires. Because of this, it can be helpful to know which local insurance companies will cover a driver with DUI.
Another implication is that the state may require you to hold a higher minimum coverage than the state’s usual minimum liability. Similar to tariff increases to offset the risk, drivers with a DUI are more likely to need higher coverage limits than those with a clean record. Statistically, people who commit DUI violations are at greater risk both to themselves and to other drivers. Requiring higher coverage limits can often help offset the financial component of this risk to some extent.
Finding Auto Insurance After a DUI in Nebraska
When it comes to finding auto insurance after a DUI, it is helpful to know which companies are working with risk drivers. Each of the companies in the table below offers tariffs for drivers with DUI. With premium increases, it may be more beneficial than ever to shop around and get quotes from as many companies as possible before committing to a policy. In addition to the initial deals, it can help to compare available discounts between companies and find the ones that qualify you. With an average price increase of 70%, these discounts become more and more important to keep your costs down.
Although some companies refuse to insure drivers with a DUI, some of the top names in auto insurance are likely to remain available. Each of the companies in this table are among the top rated auto insurance companies in the United States, all of which were ranked in the JD Power Auto Insurance Study 2020. The USAA, for example, was one of the top auto insurers in these polls more than once. However, unlike the others, this company is mainly limited to members of the military and their family members.
|Car insurance||Average annual premium after a DUI|
|District farm||$ 1,991|
|Car owner||$ 2,717|
frequently asked Questions
How will a DUI in Nebraska affect my criminal record?
In Nebraska, a DUI typically stays on the criminal record for up to 12 years. In situations where a driver is not convicted or the court drops the charges, the DUI can be completely removed from the criminal record.
What is the best auto insurance after a DUI?
The best policy and company can vary greatly from person to person. In general, companies that specialize in high risk drivers might be the best place to start, but drivers may find better deals elsewhere. To get a good start in this search, consider car insurance companies for drivers with a DUI.
How Much Auto Insurance Do I Need After a DWI in Nebraska?
The state may require drivers with a DUI conviction to get more insurance than other drivers after receiving a DWI in Nebraska. As a rule, this is a required coverage amount that is added to the minimum liability coverage required by the state.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and airlines in all 50 states and Washington, DC Coverage Limits:
- $ 100,000 personal injury liability per person
- $ 300,000 liability per accident
- $ 50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $ 100,000 personal injury from an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 personal injury to an uninsured driver per accident
- $ 500 deductible in case of collision
- $ 500 deductible
To set the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our Basic Profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile using the following incidents: clean record (base), fault accident, single speeding, single DUI conviction, and expiry of cover.